A Baptist, an Anglican, and a Presbyterian Walk Into a Monkey Bar – Episode 1

Last week, my friends Russ Ramsey, Russell Moore, and Thomas McKenzie met me in a pre-school classroom in Nashville to have some fun and talk about family.

We recorded four short episodes, now titled “A Baptist, an Anglican, and a Presbyterian Walk Into a Monkey Bar.” Here is the first one, on the exciting subject of Scripture Memorization. Don’t miss it.

Russ Ramsey is an author and associate pastor at Christ Presbyterian Church in Nashville, TN. He just released Struck – a wonderful book about marriage, friendship, a heart surgery, parenting, and living a life of faith during trying times. Highly recommended.

Russell Moore is the president of the Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission of the Southern Baptist Convention. His book  Onward: Engaging the Culture without Losing the Gospel is a must-read for Christians in the United States of America.

Thomas McKenzie is the pastor of Church of the Redeemer in Nashville, TN. He is my pastor, and the author of The Anglican Way, a guidebook for the Anglican tradition.


 

Psssst… Slugs & Bugs is Kickstarting 2 new Scripture CDs right now.

Click here to see! http://bit.ly/STBVol3

It’s only up for a few more days, so join Slugs & Bugs on Kickstarter TODAY!

One thought on “A Baptist, an Anglican, and a Presbyterian Walk Into a Monkey Bar – Episode 1

  1. Thank you, Randall, for this neat video. If I can contribute my comments on Scripture memorization, I do have to say that songs are huge. I grew up listening to the Donut Man, and my kids listen to him (as well as you!). When a Scripture comes to mind, it often is word for word from his and your songs.

    “They” say you can memorize anything if you put it to song.

    (I just found out that my 6-year-old knew all the books of the Bible. How? Through your songs! Thank you!)

    Most of the Scriptures I memorized through various venues–a local Bible study for kids, a private Christian school, Sunday school–never stuck. I passed the “test” and moved on. The Scriptures certainly did form me, but the words didn’t remain.

    The Scriptures that stayed with me were ones that I made up on my own in my bedroom as a kid and sang to myself. (My first one was John 15’s “I Am the Vine.”)

    One way that helps my kids memorize it is through daily repetition or through learning the sign language to go along with the words.

    As Fr. McKenzie stated, I also remember all of the repetitive Scriptures from the liturgy growing up Anglican…the prayers and the songs. They are teaming with Scriptures.

    Similar to what Pastor Ramsey said, kids (and adults) remember stories. Though the words may not be remembered, the “jist” of the story is. I’ve celebrated Passover year after year, since I was a kid, and it’s one account I can’t forget because of “doing” the story. That’s the same for the Easter story or Christmas story or any story that is presented over and over, especially in the Church calendar. I am sure many kids remember the Christmas story by acting it in a Christmas pageant. When the story is repeated and reinforced so often or when your body makes HIStory come alive, the Scripture becomes a part of you.

    One final thought is that the story of Scripture seems to seep into my own children and the kids in my Sunday school through lessons when I deliver it through Godly Play-like methods, where they can “see” the story and wonder about it through engaging questions. I often give them an edible craft/snack that helps them build the story, and they remember it that way.

    I know I’m going off an little bit from word-for-word memorization, but, I think it’s pertinent.

    Blessings to you all!!!

Leave a Reply

