Back from the Shadows

The Lord sustains them on their sickbed and restores them from their bed of illness.  – Psalm 41:3

Man, was I sick.

I had fever for 2 weeks. I didn’t even know that was possible!  Thank God for Advil, Tylenol, Alka Seltzer Cough and Cold, cherry cough drops, antibiotics and my patient family. 

After almost a month down, I’m now on the mend, trying to make up for lost time in the studio, while also trying to learn from the over-work routine that landed me wheezing and feverish for weeks in the sickbed.  I’ve still got a lingering cough, but the worst is over.

Thanks to my friend and producer, Ben Shive, the making of Sing the Bible Volume 2 continued even while I was down. Over the last week or so, we recorded more Nathan Duggar on electric guitar, and the beautiful vocals of my friend Nickie Conley. Last week we recorded a dramatic reading from Pastor Glenda Sutton from Nashville’s Family Affair Ministries, and some adorable kids, courtesy of their Peterson, Chaffer, Gullahorn, and Osenga parents.

This morning we recorded my friend Ron Block of Alison Krauss and Union Station. That’s exciting because Ron is brilliant and a fun fellow, but also because Ron has played on every Slugs & Bugs CD. That’s his acoustic solo on “Bears,” his banjo on “Happy Birthday Jesus” and more recently, his banjo memorably kicks off “To You Oh Lord” – track #2 on on the original Sing the Bible.  Now, that same banjo brings a glorious lift to “Hear, O Israel,” played here with my wife and daughter (they also sing on the record).

Incidentally, Ron Block just released a PHENOMENAL instrumental bluegrass CD, called Hogan’s House of Music (named after his dad’s old music store). You can pick it up by clicking here if you like awesome things.

Now that I’m feeling better, I hope to return to the blog more often. Come back soon and see what else is new, and please pray for us as we make up for lost time with production, mixing, layout and design. We still hope to send have music by November!

Peace and thanks,

Randall

p.s. – Here’s a pic of Pastor Glenda in the studio, as well as a brief video of a Gullahorn, a Peterson and an Osenga rocking some background vocals.

Pastor Glenda Sutton
Pastor Glenda Sutton

 

Leave a Reply

