Sing the Bible Volume 2 (needs you!)

Volume 2Ever since we released Sing the Bible with Slugs & Bugs, folks have been asking about a “Volume Two.” On that note, I’m happy to say I’ve been writing new scripture songs for many months, and now would be a wonderful time to hear Bible verse suggestions from you and your family.

The Slugs & Bugs community gave tons of great verse suggestions on facebook and this blog for Sing the Bible (Vol 1), and a handful of those suggestions became songs (Romans 8, Two Shirts, What is the Book, He Will Rejoice and others). So, I’m excited about this next step toward a “Volume Two.”

Here’s a few verses we have melodies for so far.

2 Peter 1:3-4

1 John 3:18-20

Psalm 90:14

Isaiah 41:10

Psalm 25:4-5

Matthew 6:25-26, 28-33

Isaiah 40:28-31

Please leave your Bible verse suggestions in a comment below. Ask your kids, ask your friends – spread this post around. It’s a big Bible, after all. Thanks so much, everyone!

64 thoughts on “Sing the Bible Volume 2 (needs you!)

  1. I saw your part for Matthew 6….. Matthew 6:34 is an awesome verse that I tell myself all the time! 🙂 I even have a small song for it! “Therefore do not worry about tomorrow; for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own”

    Another verse that could be helpful for young girls. is Psalms 31:30 “Charm can full you, beauty can trick you. But a girl who loves God should be praised.”

  2. Beyond excited about this new project. The first volume has been such an encouragement to me and my kids. We love to listen and sing along on our way to school each morning.

    What about…Micah 6:8 and Numbers 6:24-26.

    Thanks for all you do!

  3. Aliens residing among you shall ascend above you higher and higher, while you shall descend lower and lower. Deuteronomy 28:43

  4. Romans 8:28 and Ephesians 2:10 come to mind now. I love the Isaiah selections you already have! And I like the above suggestion about the 12 sons/tribes. So much goodness here!

  5. Do they just have to be verses?? Weird question, so let me explain- I love the “hall of faith chapter” Hebrews 11, but I love how it mentions people, saints, by name- and especially that it ties us together with them in verse 40.
    Also, I love the idea of the 4 women mentioned in the genealogy of Jesus! They had soooooo much in common and really displays how God graphs in new branches in the line of Christ.

  6. Psalm 145 is chock full of great verses. You could pick any section of it! Also Zephaniah 3:17 (but I am blanking on if there has been a S&B song with this…maybe one of the lullabies?). Phil 2:15 (shining as stars!!!). Also if you wanted to do a cool quote, you could do the Mother Theresa quote “Not all of us can do great things. But we can do small things with great love.”
    Soooo excited for a new Sing the Bible!!!

  7. We memorized 1 John 1:5-7 as a family recently and it has a terrific rhythm and vital truth! We used the esv and did sort of a chant. We love volume 1 and are excited about a new one! I was recently at a friend’s house and 5 of our kids spontaneously burst into song singing “what is the book”! You have created some real gems for Bible memorization. Thank you.

  8. We would love to have a second volume of Sing the Bible. My five-year-old has been memorizing Scripture this year using the songs on your first volume. We get to talk a lot about what they mean and the music really helps him memorize everything. Now when he is scared he sings to himself “Trust in the Lord…” And my two-year-old catches on well too because we sing or listen to the CD a lot!

    Maybe you will consider Hebrews 11:1 “Faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things unseen.”

    Thanks for helping kids learn Scripture and the love of God with your music.

    PS – the Tractor Song has been requested by my boys so many times at bedtime that I think it is entirely possible I have sung it more than you!

  9. I’m going to campaign once again for I Peter 5:7. It’s been one of my “life verses” along with Is. 40:30-1, which I’m glad to see is already going to be on this CD. Also, Psalm 121:1-2, “I lift up my eyes to the hills. From where does my help come? My help comes from the Lord, who made heaven and earth.”

    I recently made some “word art” for Is. 40:30-31 using a “word cloud” creator online, and for Christmas, my parents had it made into a canvas print I can hang in my room.

    https://tagul.com/show/4orouzaxubjj/Isaiah%2040%3A30-31%20-%2010

  10. And on a slightly more serious note….

    Ephesians 3:20-21 Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.

    Colossians 1:15-17 The Son is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn over all creation. For in him all things were created: things in heaven and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or powers or rulers or authorities; all things have been created through him and for him. He is before all things, and in him all things hold together.

  11. I haven’t seen these mentioned, so…how about:
    “Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.” – 1 Peter 5:7
    “If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.” 1 John 1:9
    “Let your conversation be always full of grace, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how to answer everyone.” Colossians 4:6
    And, two longer passages:
    Colossians 3:12-17
    Ephesians 3:14-21

    Hooray for a second Sing the Bible! 😀
    P.S. How’s Livi enjoying being on the road?

  12. Ephesians 6:1 or Philippians 2:14 (both very important for children to know) ;). Matthew 14:22-33 (Peter walked on water with Jesus!). Jonah selections (drowning, then being saved by a fish, so incredible). Esther 4:14 (for such a time as this)

    And my family absolutely thinks your Scripture Songs CD is awesome – many days we listen to it over and over. Getting God’s Word into our heads and hearts is so important, and having such a lovely track of music it’s set too makes it easy to remember these truths of God. So excited for another one! Yay God’s Word and yay God!

  13. No suggestion from me, just wanted to say that the Nichols family is soooo excited to hear that more songs are coming! We love vol. 1!

  14. Proverbs 26:18-19 Like a madman shooting firebrands or deadly arrows is one who deceives his neighbor and says, “I was only joking!”

  15. 1 Tim. 4:12 Don’t let anyone look down on you because you are young, but set an example for the believers in speech, in conduct, in love, in faith and in purity.

  16. Yay! So excited for volume 2. 🙂
    A passage that’s precious to us is Psalm 68:6: “God sets the lonely in families, he leads out the prisoners with singing.”
    Seriously cannot tell you what a blessing these songs are to us and our whole extended family…. Thank you so much for so faithfully using your wonderful creative gifts to be “stewards of God’s grace” 1 Peter 4:10. (That would be another great song!)

  17. Thanks for asking!

    It would be great to have a text on the cross – eg 1 Corinthians 1:18 (For the message of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God.), or 1 Peter 3:18 (For Christ also suffered once for sins, the righteous for the unrighteous to bring you to God.)

    I love the fact that Slugs and Bugs sing passages and not just texts. What about some of Revelation 7:9-17? Could the Q&A about the multitude in white robes and the surprising way they got them clean get the Slugs and Bugs treatment?

  18. Our family loves the first album, so we are excited for Vol 2. We would love to sing, Psalm 23, Matthew 11:28-30, Jeremiah 29:11-13, I Kings 19:10-13, Revelation 21:1-7, Isaiah 6: 1-8, Isaiah 25:1-9

  19. Any or all of Psalm 103. Also Colossians 1:13-14 or 1:15-20. Looking forward to the new album! Sing the Bible continues to top our playlist. Any plans for a Sing the Bible Christmas album someday? We would love that!

  20. So excited to hear that another one is in the making!
    I would love some longer verses, so that we can memorize a larger piece of scripture at a time. Also, for a fun one, my husbands favorite proverb is, “like a dog returns to his vomit, so a fool returns to his folly.” Proverbs 26:11 🙂

  21. Fill a song with play and laughter! Zech. 8:5: “And the streets of the city will be filled with boys and girls playing in the streets.”

    Put a “trustworthy saying” to song, one that is already poetic: 2 Tim. 2:11–13.

  22. I keep forgetting to add my requests! I’ll second(or 3rd?) Ephesians 3:20 and add 2 Corinthians 5:17 and Galatians 2:20. So excited to hear more of this is coming our way!

  23. I’ll ask again for an Armor of God song. 🙂 I also love the parts of Psalms that talk about God guiding us, how our foot will not slip, etc. Also “Nothing can separate us from the love of God…”

    We are so thankful for your gift of putting scripture to music! My sister and I grew up listening to “GT and the Halo Express,” and so much of the scripture I know is to the tune of those songs. 🙂 I’m glad that my own children are also pressing God’s word into their hearts through music.

  24. Isaiah 40:28
    Do you not know?
    Have you not heard?
    The Lord is the everlasting God,
    the Creator of the ends of the earth.
    He will not grow tired or weary,
    and his understanding no one can fathom.

    Trust in God : )

  25. Hi Slugs and Bugs!

    There are some great suggestions out there. I do love the others’ suggestions of
    –Micah 6:8 What does the Lord require of you? (Which is also cited on the U.S. Supreme Court Building)
    –Isaiah 40:8 The Grass withers. (A life-long favorite verse for me!)
    –Philippians 2:13-15 Do everything without complaining or arguing…in which you shine like stars. (This would go along with the light theme.)
    –Numbers 6:24-26 The Aaronic/priestly blessing (Good at the end of the disc)
    –Matthew 6:34 Do not worry. (This would be a great reprise song to add to your Matt 6 song.)
    –2 Corinthians 5:17 Old has passed. New creation. (Thinking about your kids’ baptisms, this might be a great starting point to do a “Jesus as living water” album or baptism album. I bet a lot of people would love a baptism album to give as gifts!!!)

    Going on the theme of the light of the world, here are my suggestions (in no particular order):

    –Luke 2:29-32 A light to reveal you to the nations (The Song of Simeon)
    –Isaiah 2:5 Let us walk in the light of the Lord.
    –1 John 1:5-7 God is light. Walk in the light.
    –James 1:17 Father of heavenly lights
    –2 Corinthians 4:6 Let light shine out of darkness.
    –Matthew 5:14-16 Let your light shine before men. City on a hill. (My son suggested this one.)
    –Psalm 27:1a The Lord is my light and my salvation. Whom shall I fear? (Although, you already are doing a similar verse with Isaiah 41:10.)
    –Psalm 119:105 Thy word is a lamp unto my feet and a light unto my path.
    –Ephesians 5:8-11,13-14 Live as children of light.
    –1 Thessalonians 5:5,8 You are all sons of the light. Let us be self-controlled.
    –John 8:12 Jesus said, “I am the light of the world.” (A classic light verse.)
    –John 1:9-12 The true light has come into the world. (Another classic.)

    One final suggestion…sorry, I’ve had lots of suggestions…is to do
    Philippians 2:5-11 “the first creed” because it sums up a lot about God (Again, this one might even be good if you were to do a baptism album.)

    And I do love the idea of 1 John 3:18-20 (love in action) that you have already chosen.

    Thanks for reading!

    Amelia S.

    P.S. My condolences. Your grandfather must have been a really neat guy.

    P.P.S. My son had a ninja birthday party last year. Your song was the theme-song!

Leave a Reply

