Parenting via Email

Last night, one of our big kids had kitchen duty after dinner. Wash dishes, clean kitchen. Simple.

Sometimes, when they don’t do a good job of cleaning up, I’ll gently point it out. But when it happens a lot, I begin to sound like a nag. It’s a crummy position to be in, as every parent knows.

It happened again tonight, when my child “cleaned the kitchen” and then climbed into bed to read. But the kitchen wasn’t clean.

Enter technology!  Frustrated with this cycle, I took a few pictures of the cluttered counter and the remaining straggle of items in the sink, and I emailed them to my child, for them to find tomorrow whenever they check their email. Here’s what I said.

Thanks for doing the dishes. I just wanted to show you the few things that were still left out so you’d know to clean up a little more thoroughly next time.

If you ever need help with something like the croc pot, by all means come and get me. I love to help! 🙂 But everything should be clean before you’re done from now on.

Thank you! I appreciate you and figured you’d want me to clarify our expectations. You the bomb. – dad

photo 2 photo 1 photo 3 photo 4

We’ll see if it makes a difference for next time (I’ll report back next week). Anyone else have experience with parenting via technology? I’d love to know what’s worked for you – and what hasn’t!

 

21 thoughts on “Parenting via Email

  1. I love this note! I am totally going to come at it from this angle the next time I see a job not up to standard going in around our kitchen, thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. JUST found your blog via Sally Clarkson! I listened to part of your album Slugs and Bugs! I must tell you that I think you are doing a FABULOUS thing! What is there that could be more important than MEMORIZING GOD’s WORD?!!!! Thank you for sharing your gift!

  3. Hi! I’m here from SallyClarkson.com. I haven’t heard of your music, but I’m so excited to check it out!
    I also wanted to say that as I read this post, the first one on the page, I couldn’t help but relate. I may try your suggestion with my oldest who is a wonderful help, but oh, so easily distracted from doing a complete job. 😉

  4. This is brilliant!!! I see using this idea in the future with our daughter. She’s only 1 right now….it will be a few years before I can e-mail her. 🙂

  5. Parenting and technology- great article! What an excellent idea! I never thought to use it with my teen who is incredibly techy. I do sometimes feel like a nag and that he tunes me out, so I have just given up. I will try this.

  6. I’m here from Sally Clarkson’s website. This looks like a fun idea…one I’ll have to tuck away for when my own kids are not babies anymore! I’ll be interested to hear whether it works or not.

  7. I heard about your music at Sally Clarkson’s blog, and I am very excited to hopefully win one of your CDs. I’ve been perusing your blog, and I really love what you have to say about parenting. Very practical and scriptural – thank you!

  8. Visiting from Sally Clarkson’s website. Looks like a great and fun way to teach the Word. Thanks for sharing your creative talents in a great way.

Leave a Reply

