Trust In The Lord – Proverbs 3:5-6 (Track 6 from Sing the Bible)

This post is the sixth in a series on our new Slugs & Bugs CD Sing the Bible with Slugs & Bugs. The lyrics to Sing the Bible are word-for-word Scripture. I hope this series helps parents talk and think with their kids about each passage.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart
And lean not on your own understanding
In all your ways acknowledge him
And he will direct your path
– Proverbs 3:5-6

This is one of those verses, like John 3:16 or Psalm 23, that you will find printed onto bookmarks and framed behind glass, crocheted onto a pillow or hovering over a field of wildflowers on a laptop screensaver.

It is well known and well loved because it gently and simply sums up the enormous task of a life of faith. It covers so much ground so fast, a conversation with your child could easily bounce from, “How do I trust?” to “Why should I trust him?” or worse, “How can I learn to trust someone I can’t see or hear?”

But, this is my series, and since my 6 year old is not hear to derail me with mind-numbing questions like “why is God real?” I’ve decided to hone in on the word acknowledge.

With my kids, I’ve used a scene from “Emperor’s New Groove” to illustrate the idea of acknowledging a King.  When someone comes to speak to the Emperor, their posture, tone of voice, and the words they choose all project subservience.   The visitor is acknowledging the emperor’s lordship. To put it simply, he is saying “you are more important than me.”

Each day we have hundreds of chances to “acknowledge him,” and we get to take each chance, one by one, saying, “You are more important than me, show me your way, and I’ll do that.”

If you’re like me, now would be a great time to confess your failure at doing this consistently. But don’t be shy to confess your successes, either. We can all point to moments where we submitted to the Lord’s will, and hearing about both successes and failures in your life of faith will be encouraging to your kids.

—-

Galations 5:1 – Freedom (Track #1 from Sing the Bible with Slugs & Bugs)

Psalm 25 – To You O Lord (Track #2 from Sing the Bible with Slugs & Bugs)

Two Shirts – (Track #3 Sing the Bible with Slugs & Bugs )

Deuteronomy 6:5 – (Track #4 from Sing the Bible with Slugs & Bugs)

Philippians 4:4-8 – Rejoice (Track #5 from Sing the Bible with Slugs & Bugs

3 thoughts on “Trust In The Lord – Proverbs 3:5-6 (Track 6 from Sing the Bible)

Leave a Reply

