Kickstart some Scripture Songs!

On April 10 (this coming wednesday), Slugs & Bugs will begin it’s 2nd Kickstarter Campaign. You are probably familiar with Kickstarter by now, but for people like my parents, here’s my summation.  Kickstarter helps people support the creative works they believe in, and in return, they get first access to those creative works.

It is my grand hope that you will find this project worthy of investing in.

Briefly, the CD will have around 20 songs that are straight scripture.  I used different translations at times, and there are one or two songs where I used scripture as the verse and wrote new lyrics for a chorus (or vise versa), but mostly it’s straight scripture that you and your children will enjoy singing (and memorizing!).   Through Kickstarter, you’ll be able to secure your copies of the Slugs & Bugs Scripture CD, as well as choose from the increasingly awesome rewards available to everyone.

The reality is, I could not do this without you. This will be a very ambitious recording project, with the world class musicianship you are accustomed to from Slugs & Bugs, as well as a 2 day recording session in North Carolina with the African Children’s Choir. The total budget for the entire project far exceeds what I could do on my own, and it will be so much better as a result of your participation.  We’re calling it 40 days, 40 nights, 40 grand. If we successfully raise $40,000 it will cover all of the expenses we foresee including travel to and from the session in North Carolina.

And by the way, if you don’t know about the African Children’s Choir, I’m honored to get to introduce you.  And if you do know about the ACC, then you know how cool it is that these amazing Ugandan children will be singing songs with Slugs & Bugs. I really can’t wait to spend that time with them.

One other exciting detail, my friend Sally Lloyd Jones, author of A Jesus Storybook Bible, Thoughts to Make your Heart Sing and other brilliant children’s books) will appear on the CD as a speaker and reader.  Not only is Sally a terrifically creative and delightful person, she’s also got a perfect voice for reading to children. And of course, my old friend Andrew Peterson will inevitably turn up somewhere to make merry or mischief or both.

The Kickstarter Campaign begins Wednesday, April 10 and ends Monday May 20. Spread the word, mark your calendar, stay tuned and don’t miss the chance to pre-order your copy of Slugs & Bugs Scripture Songs!

7 thoughts on “Kickstart some Scripture Songs!

  1. Whoo-hoo! Now let’s just hope my boy gets these songs stuck in his head like he did “Tractor, Tractor” …

  2. Hey, this ends on my 30th birthday. So… Added incentive to everyone… If this makes it, you’ll give me a pretty cool gift for my 30th b-day. 😉 (Somehow I don’t think that will ACTUALLY add incentive for anyone reading this blog. But I may have an idea… Hmmmm….. 🙂

  3. Okay… I just have to comment again, because I noticed what the Andrew Peterson link links to… That is just awesome. I’d say more (for instance, something Podo might say) but I don’t want to give it away completely. 🙂

Leave a Reply

