Slugs & Bugs & the Next CD!

Here at Slugs & Bugs mission control, we spent a long season creating content at a pretty rapid clip.  We released 2 CDs in 2 years (35 tracks), created 14 animated or live action videos for the live show, and along with updating the blog and writing a slew of new S&B songs, I eventually had to slow it all down to a crawl in order to survive. I stopped posting on this blog, dramatically diminished my Slugs & Bugs social media interaction, and have now spent a season focusing on infrastructure and keeping the Slugs & Bugs concert calendar full. (Click here to inquire about bringing Slugs & Bugs concert to your community in 2013)(Really, click there).

Now, that season is slowly drawing to a close.  I’m finding some much needed help in organizational and structural areas, which should free me up to work on things like a DVD, a Slugs & Bugs VBS, something I’m calling a Life Book, and other cool stuff that can impact families.  And speaking of cool new stuff, I’ve begun to make plans for a 4th Slugs & Bugs CD to be released next year.

This new CD will definitely be the most challenging and most exciting Slugs & Bugs CD yet because… every lyric from the next Slugs & Bugs CD will be all straight from Scripture.  Not ideas from Scripture or summaries of scripture; straight scripture verses, put to music.

I’m hoping some of you are actually pretty excited about this idea.  Some of you may even be as excited as I am.  I wish I had more scripture memorized, and I get pretty pumped when I think about the possibility of helping families memorize scripture. But I’m pretty sure some of you just got SUPER BORED. Believe me, I understand your yawn.

Typically, whenever I hear about an entire album of songs that are made up of nothing but word-for-word scripture I ja;ewlkf ;vdv;ccccccccccccccccccccccc oh – wait, see… I just fell asleep even thinking about a whole album of scripture songs. But if you’re still awake, do not despair. Just like the iPhone, the internet, the wheel, and original sin, this CD is going to change everything. OK, maybe not everything, but maybe something.  A few of you may no longer be totally bored by the idea of a whole CD of songs from Bible verses.*

For me, the challenge of this project is almost as inspiring as the potential result. How can you be fun and silly with scripture?  Well, a year from now I may be eating my words, but I am foolish enough to believe it is very possible. For encouragement, one need look no further than Veggie Tales creator Phil Visher’s new project “What’s in the Bible? With Buck Denver.” Dude uses hand puppets to talk about the Pentateuch, and somehow, it’s amazing. All 3 of my kids love it.

If you’re still reading, thanks. Because this next part is the most important part.  Since I don’t exactly have the whole bible memorized, I could use your help with suggestions for more song lyrics, (aka Bible verses).   SO, if you’ve ever wished you could memorize a certain verse or passage from the bible, OR, if you really wish your kids would memorize some certain verse, now is the time to take action… I mean, to let me do the work for you.  If I choose your scripture suggestion, I promise to do my best to make that scripture passage irreparably memorable, using nothing but melody, rhythm, kale, Açai berries, flaxseed meal, and fish oil.

So, please, send me your scripture suggestions.  I’ve already got 7 songs written, they are…

Psalm 1

2 Peter 1:3-4

Mark 8:27-36

Luke 6:41-42

Luke 12:35-37

Old Testament Books (song)

New Testament Books (song)

So, if you love the Bible, and you love your kids, and you love Slugs & Bugs (it’s ok if you love us a little less), please comment here with Bible verse suggestions!

*Of course, there are notable good CDs of scripture songs (Seeds Family Worship comes to mind).

19 thoughts on “Slugs & Bugs & the Next CD!

  1. For a challenge, one that I’ve always found mysterious and enthralling is 1 Peter 1:10-12 “… things into which angels long to look.”

    Romans 7:14-25 would make an awesome rap and is no heavier a passage than Mark 8:27 – 36. Albeit, Rom 8:1-4 would be more upbeat.

    Eph 1: 3 – 14 is a little long – but it is such a rich and complete “confession” it would be a really powerful song.

    I guess 1 Cor 13 is kind of obvious, but good. Considering Phil Visher’s testimony maybe a fruit of the spirit song (Gal 5:22-23)?

    Along the lines of seriously useful scriptures to have bubble up in times of need, I think Micah 6:8 is on the short list, along with Eph 2:8-10 and Gal 4:1-7.

    Also Psalm 119 could be a whole album all by itself.

    (I think the group Acapella did a fun version of 2 Peter 1:3, can’t wait to hear yours.)

  2. Fruit of the spirit is one we are working on with our kids
    1 Thess 5:11…be kind to one another and build each other up

    Excited for the next CD….we all love your music…

  3. Some things I try to get the kids at church to memorize are the 23rd Psalm, Fruit of the Spirit, the Full Armor of God, the Ten Commandments, and the names of the Disciples.

  4. I Peter 5:7 has meant a lot to me lately…. Or rather has meant a lot to me again. 🙂 It first took on special meaning when I was a child, and now as an adult, I’m facing a similar situation. Granted, it’s been put to music quite a few times. And I already have it memorized. But I still love the verse.

  5. Couple of thoughts below

    Matt 14 22-32- water walking
    1 sam 17- The story of David
    2 sam 121-7 Story of man with many rubber duckies
    Matt 1 18-25- The christmas story

    The verses below are from a Bible study I did with our Men’s group, I had noticed that whenever helping the poor came up there was this amazing consistent reflex to quote 2 thes 3:10 If you dont work you don’t eat and that settled it i.e. no need to worry about the poor, needy etc. I put together a study of the verses that point to personal responsibilty, there are Proverbs that discourage laziness etc. But then pulled a selection of instances where scripture commands us to help,give,serve. A selection of those are below. Don’t know if they could/should be woven into a song but thought it
    would be neat to create a sorta scripture helping song.
    Maybe a question answer sorta thing;

    If you don’t work you dont eat, feed the poor, help the Orphan,
    If you dont work you dont eat, give to those who have need;
    Jesus said that the poor , you will always have with you,
    but what you do to the least of these you do to me.

    2 thes 3:10
    Ps. 10:14.,Lev. 19:19,Luke 12:33,Luke 3:11,Mt. 5:42,Prov. 22:9,Deut. 15:10
    Is. 58:10, Luke 14:12-14,Mt. 19:20,prov 25:21,prov 28:27, prov 31:20,

  6. I love this idea! Psalm 139 comes to mind, particularly the fearfully, wonderfully made part.

    And I’m totally intrigued by this thing you’re calling a Life Book.

  7. Yay! This new CD sounds very exciting! Some of my favorites are
    Jeremiah 29:11
    Romans 8:28
    Romans 8:26

    And how about the Beatitudes (Matthew 5:3-12 or Luke 6:20-23) and the salt/light comparisons (Matthew 5:13-16)?

  8. As the mother of five boys, my children always laughed at this verse:
    Proverbs 30:33 … twisting noses makes them bleed.
    You’ve got have at least one song that makes them smile (or twist each other’s nose)

  9. A few other scriptures came to mind this morning …

    Luke 10:25-37 : “…Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind’; and, ‘Love your neighbor as yourself. …”

    Pretty much anything from James, especially the first chapter.

    Romans 8:26-30 : ” … And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose. For those God foreknew he also predestined to be conformed to the likeness of his Son, that he might be the firstborn among many brothers. And those he predestined, he also called; those he called, he also justified; those he justified, he also glorified. …”

  10. The liturgy nerd in me would like to see a fair representation of the psalms and canticles. Particularly:

    Psalm 34
    Psalm 42
    Psalm 63
    Psalm 145
    (Any Psalm, really)
    Exodus 15
    Luke 1:46-55 (Mary’s Magnificat)
    Luke 1:68-79 (Zechariah’s Benedictus)
    Luke 2:29-32 (Simeon’s Nunc dimittis)

    It’s one thing to set little nuggets of Scripture to music. But those songs that are actually IN Scripture and were actually sung by our ancestors in praise of God—there’s something immensely cool about taking them and putting them in a whole new context.

  11. I’m digging the idea of some Isaiah. Isaiah 43, especially 16-21 hit me today. In college fellowship there was some music set to 40:28-31 that was fantastic to sing – I cant’ find any similar version since.

  12. Psalm 100 from the NASV. We are memorizing it right now with our 4 boys and we’ve even made up a fun tune to go along with it. Love it!

    Also, Luke 2:1-14

  13. I like to pray Ephesians 1:17-19 and/or Ephesians 3:16-21(ish) over my Son and family. I sure would love to have a song version to sing! 🙂

  14. I second Sarah’s comment- something that will make them laugh! Also, dankulp’s about Isaiah 43. We have an Isaiah in our house, and we often sing the ruf/camp/praisesong version to him, but it’s call and response- which is hard. Would LOVE a kid friendly rendition of this powerful promise.

    I came to the blog with hopes of seeing hints of a new album in the works, and behold! We’re so excited!!

Leave a Reply

