When VBS = Date Night

I don’t know why every church does not do this.  The Children’s ministry at Midtown Fellowship is having VBS this week in the evenings, every night from 5:15 to 8:00. Tonight, we dropped off the kids, made a quick trip to Home Depot to rent a drill (starting construction on the tree house tomorrow) and then we had a quiet hour alone in the house for the first time in months.  We sat on the couch, I rubbed her feet, we said things like…

“So we adopted our son from Ethiopia… How is that going for you?”

and

“How are you and Livi (our daughter) doing?”

and

“Can I fix you a bowl of cereal?”

and then I fell asleep on her shoulder, and she woke me up just in time. We went back, together, to get the kids.  It was amazing.  No paying a babysitter, no dinner bill, we just had 55 quiet minutes at home to stare at each other and faintly remember what is is like to rest in each other’s attention when it’s not 10:00 at night.

Midtown Fellowship and (director) Adrienne Williams, thank you from the bottom of my heart for having an evening VBS.  The families I know feel cared for and deeply considered by your decision to run it this way.  I’m sure it creates problems that traditional VBS’s don’t have, but the kids have loved it, and the parents – at least the ones that don’t have grandparents close by – have been twice blessed. First, you care for our kids with love and good times (see photo of Jonah’s Mr. Potato Head) and teach them about Jesus, and second, you are doing it when husbands and wives can hang out. Thanks for being my church and The Church all at the same time.

(As an addendum, I should say that last week my kids were at Judson Baptist’s VBS – during the morning – and it was fantastic, and we appreciated their love and care as well.)

4 thoughts on “When VBS = Date Night

  1. I love Adrienne. And Midtown. And I (sadly) moved away in August. So now I still love them but also miss them. And last year at VBS I remember when Jonah licked the brownie serving spatula but realized what he had done mid lick. Priceless.

  2. Yeah, the VBS we go to started evenings 3 years ago. It’s sweet action. Ours said they did it as it’s so much easier to get volunteers and here in the California Central Valley, in the evening, it doesn’t feel like hot death outside.

  3. Sara and I usually work the VBS circuit in town. With a bit of planning, the kids can be busy for weeks at a time.

Leave a Reply

