My Inciting Incident

On the way to Africa to pick up my son, I listened to Don Miller’s new book “A Million Miles In A Thousand Years.” It is all about seeing your life as a story, and it is classic Don.  His books are both easily digestible and profoundly insightful, like a brownie sundae that is somehow packed with the nutritional value of spinach and sweet potatoes.

One of the memorable take-home tidbits from “Miles” is the challenge to create an inciting incident in your life. In other words, once you see how you want your life to go, do something so that it will hurt if you back out.  You want to go to the Grand Canyon this summer?  Buy a non-refundable plane ticket.  Want to run a marathon? Ask a friend to train with you, buy some new running shoes and tell all your friends what you’re up to. You get the idea.

Well, the development of the Slugs and Bugs tour has helped me see clearly down the road a spell.  I have never been as excited and passionate and creatively juiced as I am right now.  I’m writing kids songs like crazy, and I’m filled with purpose as I sing to and speak to kids across the country, giving them a deep and wide picture of the Gospel Life that meets them right where they are.  And I get to be silly, which I love.  So maybe for the first time in my life,  I am ready to write the outline for the next part of my life story.  All I need now is an inciting incident.  So here goes.

By Fall of 2012, I want the schedule so jam-packed with Slugs and Bugs shows, that I can take my wife out of the daily grind, take my kids kids out of school, rent a tour bus, and tour the country – home schooling Livi, Jonah and Ben through all the sights and sounds of the road, and getting them on stage as much as possible.  It’s gonna be the Goodgame Family Jamboree!!

*Originally our goal was Fall 2011, but after a few weeks (as of May 8th) after much long conversation, Amy and I have adjusted the goal to Fall 2012 – giving the kids one more year to mature before taking the plunge. They will be 11, 9, and 5.

Now, I may wind up with only a smattering of shows and egg on my face, but I think that’s the point. If there was no risk, this would not be as motivating an exercise.  Telling you guys, that is, the few thousand folks around my social network, makes it real.

So, in the meantime, I’ll be twittering, updating my facebook pages, adding dates to the calendar, tightening up the Slugs and Bugs Live concert, writing new songs, giving the kids their music lessons, praying, practicing, sharing stories and youtube clips and generally doing everything I can to build this fledgling tour into a five star family bonanza come August 2012.

And since there’s no time like the present, here’s a little demo version of one of the songs I’ve written lately.  It has been a hit out on the road, and so far, no one’s gotten hurt!

Sneak Peek –  ‘Dizzy’ – New Demo

2 thoughts on “My Inciting Incident

  1. Loved “Dizzy” … does that mean that after Joshua marched around Jericho 7 times, he got dizzy? And that’s why God had to take over for them after their 7th time. 😉

Leave a Reply

