Skip to content

Two Shirts (A Co-write with Jesus and John the Baptist)

April 19, 2013

I’ve had some pretty fantastic collaborators and co-writers over the past 16 years in Nashville. But I’m going to have to say these two are tops. I looked back over the past blog posts to try and find the comment that suggested John’s quote about having two shirts or shoes, but I couldn’t find it.  Whoever you are, thank you very much.

The passage in Luke 3 works great as a first line because it says so clearly what the song is about. After landing on the melody, I came across Jesus’ teaching from Mark 9, which fit perfectly. Suddenly, there was a chorus.

Most of the songs on the upcoming CD are whole pieces of scripture, some large and some small. This is the only one (so far) that draws from different places in the Bible. The verse comes from the Sermon on the Mount in Matthew 6.

Luke 3:11,  

Anyone who has two shirts should share with the one who has none,
Anyone who has food should do the same

Mark 9:35,
Anyone who wants to be first must be the very last, and the servant of all

Matthew 6:19-21
Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth,
Where moth and rust destroy, where thieves break in and steal.
But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven,
(Where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal)
For where your treasure is, there your heart will be (also).

If you’re new here, we’re in the middle of a Kickstarter campaign to support the creation of this CD, so click here to pre-order your copy and join the effort or share this link  http://kck.st/14xzPpB to spread the word to friends!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2013 8:25 am

    Randy- this is soooo awesome! :) LOVE this so much. I love your guitar style. I love how you drew from different parts of scripture. This is going to be an amazing CD, for sure.

    I listened to this several times to practice singing harmony on it! :) (Just because that’s something I’m trying to hear in my head so I can learn for church)

    I see the capo on the 5th fret….but what do you have on the 3rd? I couldn’t figure it out.

  2. April 19, 2013 8:28 am

    on that last chorus, I hear in my head a choir of kids singing along…. (is that going to happen by chance? if not, that might sound cool)

  3. Kristin Hill Taylor permalink
    April 19, 2013 2:42 pm

    This could be my second favorite S&B song, right behind “I’m Adopted.” Well done!

Trackbacks

  1. the shirt off my back and a recent epiphany | dear heARTists...

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

