Skip to content

I’m a What?

February 13, 2013

Oh how I wish I could remember all the crazy-awesome pronunciations my kids have latched on to over the years.  With only one pre-schooler left, I’ve finally started to write them down.

Microstopit, callapitter, and thingers (instead of fingers) are a few of our favorites, but my favorite preschool “interpretation” I’ve heard in a while comes from a family of Slugs & Bugs fans in Kentucky.  They heard their lovely daughter belting the out Slugs & Bugs song “I’m Adopted,” but as they moved closer they realized she was passionately singing “I’m a dolphin.”

I will never stop laughing at that.

Feel free to share some of your children’s “pronunciation interpretations.” I find that stuff exceedingly fun.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Cindy Guy permalink
    February 13, 2013 1:03 pm

    oh how excited I am to share with you some of what my children said:

    My niece used to call “Movies”- “Moobie” (She was 2)

    My son calls a local amusement park by the wrong name: Called KNOEBELS (Kah-No-Bles) until this past year he would call it KAMODLES. I LOVED it!!! :D It still makes me smile. I wish he’d still call it the wrong thing only because I think it’s cute. Though I understand the need to correct things. (my son is 6)

    My son , when just turned 2, used to call his uncle….”Mummy Matt”….”Mummy Matt, Mummy Matt”… I knew it was Uncle, though others who didn’t know my little two year old by thought it sounded funny.

    My son, until this past year also used to call a “Trophy” a “ToFEE” (mispelled for the effect of the word)

    My daughter didnt have too many words that she mispronounced, but I’m sure I’ll think of a few eventually. But she does mix up potatoes and tomatoes a lot. Consistantly asks for Tomato Chips… :) And she does say “I respect your apology”…instead of “I accept your apology”.

    I can’t wait to think of others….

    Date: Wed, 13 Feb 2013 06:53:42 +0000 To: write_to_us_guys@hotmail.com

    • February 13, 2013 5:26 pm

      These are great, Cindy. “respect your apology” reminds me of how my son Ben says “Amen” instead of “The End” whenever we finish reading a book.

  2. Ariaun Loveday permalink
    February 13, 2013 1:30 pm

    When my son was two, his favorite song was “I’ve got the joy, joy, joy, joy, down in my heart.” He also loved to passionately belt it out, especially while shopping in Target. Made for lots of fun attention. But as I started listening to him sing it more closely I realized he ended the verse by singing, “down in my heart Tuesday.” :)

  3. February 13, 2013 3:42 pm

    I want to copyright Cate’s use of “hanitizer.” It’s brilliant in a way that only comes from a preschooler meshing “hand” and “sanitizer” together. And, of course, that’s what we all call the germ-cleaning substance now.

  4. Cindy Guy permalink
    February 13, 2013 5:20 pm

    Kristen, My 8 year old daughter also uses “Hanitzer”. I started using the word myself. It’s so much easier to say “HANITIZER” instead of “Hand Sanitizer”.

    Date: Wed, 13 Feb 2013 06:53:42 +0000 To: write_to_us_guys@hotmail.com

  5. Courtney permalink
    February 13, 2013 10:22 pm

    Patrick jokingly still aks for “bessert” after dinner instead of dessert and called Auburn Arbin for a long time….thought Amy would appreciate that one :)

  6. Chris Wyatt permalink
    February 13, 2013 10:59 pm

    My son Noah has a long string of what we lovingly call Noah-isms. Some of my faves:

    (When his sister hit puberty) “I know what PMS is. It’s when a girl pees all over the place. You know, Pee-A-Mess!”
    “B-i-n-g-o, B-i-n-g-o, B-i-n-g-o, and Jesus is his name, yo!”

    (When his baby sister was chewing on mommy’s finger) “Lily, this ain’t mommy on thethe cob!”

    In reference to a thundercloud, “Mommy, that cloud is dirty. God needs to wash it.”
    “Is Jesus’s last name Amen? ‘Cause you always say ‘in Jesus ‘s name Amen.”

    “Behold the royal diapragm and crown him Lord of all!”

    I

  7. Jackie permalink
    February 14, 2013 12:04 am

    I had a niece who would sing the chorus of Victory in Jesus as “He punched me to victory beneath the cleansing flood”.

  8. Cary permalink
    February 15, 2013 4:03 am

    Well, it’s old news now but my son also belted out “I’m a dolphin” and got quite upset with me when I tried to explain/correct him, almost to the point of tears and insisting it was dolphin… So I let it go. :). thanks for great music.

  9. mic hele permalink
    February 16, 2013 12:34 am

    Our son loves to sing “up from the grave he arose” at the top of his lungs. Instead of “he lives forever with his saints to reign”, he sings, he lives forever with his saints to play.” He has been singing it like that since he was 2. He is 5 now, but I think its too cute to correct. :-)

  10. February 16, 2013 4:51 pm

    My three-year-old, Jon, is fond of pink-butter sandwiches. I’m still looking for some!

    Yesterday when Jon pointed out a “gweat, bit hill” we were about to cross, I let him know it was an overpass. My five-year-old Evie exclaimed, “An OGRE pass?!”

  11. February 26, 2013 8:20 pm

    I wrote a blog last month about my daughter singing, “I’m a dolphin!” as well! You can read the post here: http://www.inchingheavenward.blogspot.com/2013/01/im-dolphin.html
    We love Slugs and Bugs…I am always hearing my 3 and 5 year old children belting out your lyrics while they make their beds and get dressed in the morning. So fun!

  12. jake permalink
    March 4, 2013 2:46 am

    My favorite of my son’s is from Twinkle Twinkle little star, “…like a dinosaur in the sky.” Sure, ’cause stars are just like dinosaurs in the sky.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

