Books of the Bible Song (Old Testament)

In these early months of 2013, when I’m not busy booking concerts, I’m working on songs for the new Slugs & Bugs CD. If you haven’t heard, almost all of the lyrics will come straight from scripture. I’ve really appreciated the scripture suggestions so many of you gave a few months back when I introduced the idea (please, keep ’em coming!).  Tomorrow, I’ll share which scriptures I’ve used so far, and I’m hopeful some of you will be excited to find your suggestions on the list.

I’m using a few different translations, sometimes combining translations in the same song, so I’m thinking of calling my amalgamation the MSV.  That is, the Most Singable Version.

Meanwhile, I’ve got at least one song that (almost) all of the translations can agree on, and today I’m going to share the joy. Introducing the new Slugs & Bugs song “That’s the Old Testament,” performed admirably by the Goodgame family (careful viewers can even find Mrs. Goodgame somewhere in the picture). Tune in next week for the Slugs & Bugs New Testament Song!

11 thoughts on “Books of the Bible Song (Old Testament)

  1. Love the video! 🙂 I sort of remember a song to the books of the Bible from when I was a kid. Though I don’t even know if I’d recognize it if I heard it. Thanks for sharing the fun tune! 🙂 Date: Tue, 5 Feb 2013 05:26:37 +0000 To: write_to_us_guys@hotmail.com

  2. I’m so glad you incorporated the natural rhyme and rhythm of the last four books. Most songs I’ve heard miss that completely. Yep, the little things in life make me happy 🙂 .

  3. Hooray! Wholesome kids’ music by Mr. Goodgame… and it also did my heart good to see Ben with his siblings. :)))

  4. Perfect timing! My oldest and I are trying to memorize the books of the Bible right now, and we’re almost done with the OT… I haven’t found a song that was… “our style”… yet to use while we learned! Just found it! 😉

  5. Amy told me about this video before the concert in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. I’m so glad, great song and I can’t wait for a scripture CD.

  6. I’d love to see Colossians 3:20 in a song. We prioritize this one for our kiddoes over the more-popular Ephesians 6:1, because it emphasizes pleasing God, rather than just doing what is right. (Not that that’s bad, obviously!) But no one ever seems to include it in anything.

    “Children, obey your parents in all things, for this is well pleasing to the Lord.”

Leave a comment